为什么SmartPeg仅限一次性使用?

为了避免损坏种植体,SmartPeg选用的材料非常柔软,因此螺纹的使用寿命受到了一定影响。

Osstell SmartPeg是精密的测量装置。Osstell仪器通过磁脉冲使SmartPeg振动,并测量其共振频率。为了使SmartPeg正常运行,需要与种植体或基台牢固地连接在一起。经常检查所用类型的SmartPeg是否正确。如果在安装SmartPeg时存在阻力,禁止使用大力拧紧——这样可能损坏SmartPeg。如果SmartPeg螺纹受损,SmartPeg可能无法运行,并且会显示错误的ISQ读数。

SmartPeg由软质金属制成,顶部装有镀锌磁铁。因此,SmartPeg在打开后将迅速磨损。出于这一原因和卫生考虑,SmartPeg仅限一次性使用。装有SmartPeg的无菌包装至少可保持5年的无菌性。SmartPeg泡罩上标有失效日期。在此期间,SmartPeg上的某些区域可能出现颜色变化。例如,SmartPeg机身上可能出现明显的小污点。这些污点实则是氧化物,不会以任何方式影响SmartPeg的功能或无菌性。

应将用过的SmartPeg作为金属进行回收。

 

SmartPegs

Check Mark SmartPeg由软铝制成。SmartPeg必须要比种植体本身更柔软,以便消除可能损坏种植体及其连接的任何风险。铝的磨损速度很快,几次插入之后就能明显看出。如果未与种植体进行100%连接,那么Osstell检测仪无法提供准确的ISQ数值。即使很小的变化也会产生差异。

Check Mark  由于高压灭菌过程需要极端条件,普遍认为高压灭菌会加快磨损速度,而且加快铝的腐蚀速度。

Check Mark 随着SmartPeg的磨损,铝被“刮掉”,变成小碎片——这些碎片将留在种植体及其连接中。它们将产生什么样的长期影响?种植体和基台之间的连接有什么影响?大部分临床医生将竭尽所能避免这些情况。对我们来说,就是使用新的SmartPeg。

Check Mark  由于在重复使用和/或高压灭菌之后无法保证数据完整性,因此只能使用新的SmartPeg。

Check Mark  当然还有其他灭菌方法(低温灭菌),但是这些方法并不是100%灭菌,而且仍然存在机械磨损的问题。

Check Mark  通用卫生标准表明,建议避免重复使用之前暴露于生物组织等的材料。这是大部分医疗保健领域的发展方向,牙科领域也是如此。

 

 

 

想了解更多信息?

X

Why are SmartPegs single patient use only?

To avoid damage to the implant, the SmartPeg material is quite soft, which limits the lifetime of the threads

Osstell SmartPegs are delicate measurement devices. The Osstell instrument vibrates the SmartPeg through magnetic pulses and measures the resonance frequency of it. In order for the SmartPeg to function properly, it needs a firm attachment to the implant or abutment. Always check that the right SmartPeg Type is used. If there is resistance when mounting a SmartPeg, never use excessive force to screw it in – that could damage the SmartPeg. If the SmartPeg threads are damaged, it is possible that the SmartPeg will not function and give false ISQ-readings.

 

The SmartPegs are made from a soft metal with a zinc-coated magnet mounted on top of it. The SmartPegs will therefore rapidly wear after being opened. For this reason, and for hygienic reasons, the SmartPegs are disposable. The sterile package that holds the SmartPeg will hold sterility at least 5 years. The expiry date is stamped on the SmartPeg blister. During this time, it is possible that some areas on the SmartPeg will shift in color. For instance, there could be small visible spots on the SmartPeg body. These spots are an oxide and will not affect the function or sterility of the SmartPeg in any way.

 

Used SmartPegs should be recycled as metal.

SmartPegs

Check Mark   The SmartPeg is made from soft aluminum. It must be much softer than the implant itself not to have any risk of damaging the implant and its connection. The wear and tear of aluminum is fast and visible after only a few inserts. The Osstell instrument will not provide accurate ISQ values if the connection with the implant is not 100%. Even very small changes will make a difference.
Check Mark   Autoclaving is thought to speed up the wear and tear, but also the corrosion of the aluminum because of the rather extreme conditions during the autoclaving process.
Check Mark   As the SmartPeg wears out, aluminum is “shaved off” in small tiny fragments – these will stay in the implant and its connection. What long term effects do they have? And what is the impact of the connection between the implant and the abutment? Most clinicians would try to avoid such situations, in any way they can. In our case: use a fresh SmartPeg.
Check Mark   Since the data integrity cannot be guaranteed after repeated use and/or autoclaving, the method is only approved for use with new SmartPegs.
Check Mark   There are of course other sterilization methods (cold), but they are not 100% in terms of sterilization, and the question of the mechanical wear and tear still remains.
Check Mark   General hygienic standards would suggest that you want to avoid reusing material that have been exposed to biological tissue etc earlier. That is the direction of most healthcare is being developed, and the same in dentistry.

 

 

 

Would you like to learn more?

Enter your email and we will contact you!

X